First Time ROTJ Scout Trooper Build (3D Printed)

Cpt_Chops

Hi Y'all!

I am excited to be working on a ROTJ Scout trooper build! Over the summer, a friend and I made some costumes (Mando and Captain Rex). I had such a good time making the Mando costume that I wanted to do a Scout trooper and join the 501st. Since this is my first time building something for the 501st - so feel free to let me know if I am off track at any point.

I choose to 3D print the armor and helmet for the Scout trooper (that is what I did for the Mando costume). I have already printed all of the armor (over 600 hours of printing) out of PETG and I am now working on finishing it. The files I am using for the armor are from Mr. Poopie (huge thanks!) and the helmet is from Jesus Salmeron (excellent file as well). Since I am in the process of finishing the armor, I wanted to go ahead and start a WIP post and share my progress.

20210918_164644.jpg?width=277&height=493

I have shared a couple of pictures of the scout trooper armor. In this first picture, is the first two nearly finished parts (they still need one more gloss white coat to even out a few  places). It took a lot of sanding and filler/primer, but I managed to get the surface pretty smooth. For 3D printed parts, I was wondering what the requirement for surface quality was? Would the quality in the picture be acceptable?