So it begins, Bselph Build

bselphfsu282

Hello to all. I just received my BC armor and bucket kit, and I currently have the traditional overwhelmed feeling that I get before I get started on any project! If course, I have hundreds of questions, most have been answered by the research I have done in this site, but some are still lingering!

I have never built a kit out of HIPS before, and nothing of this thickness, so what I the best way to trim the armor? Score and snap method still work, or will I need to go to a dremel? Also, I have not dealt with a resin bucket before, so what would be the best tool for it as well?

Second, the tank.... Looks to be many hours of aggravation! Can anyone tell me how thick the tank should be? From the back plate to the edge of the top of the tank and where the greeblie should sit? It looks like there should be about an inch boarder from the edge of the tank and the greeblie. I believe I am going to cut a small hole in the back plate and rivet the tank on once it has been cut out. What is the best way to attach and measure the curve of the back plate?

For the shoulders, I see a strap to go around your arm, but is there also a strap connecting to the should strap to keep it in place?

Next, why is the purpose of filling in the underside of the visor? I know there is a "wonk" factor, but is it necessary to fill it is? I don't want to create anymore weight than I have too! Also, what color are you guys painting the inside of the helmet? Black like a TK/TD?