Small crack on helmet surface

Hi again!

The bubble wrap marks that I've mentioned, in another thread, shouldn't now be a problem. I'll start working on that ASAP!

But I've now come across a new problem...

I've recently discovered a very small crack on the surface of my CB helmet. I know it wasn't there when I got it, so it must have appeared today or maybe yesterday.

As I said it's only on the surface of the helmet and not all the way through. Is it something not to worry about, or should I try to fix it as soon as possible?

What would you guys recommend me to do? How can I get this fixed?

http://s1066.photobu...html?sort=3&o=0

I have no experience with repairs like this, so obviously I need some serious guidelines!

Thanks for help! :)

If it isn't all the way through, I wouldn't worry TOO much. Just be careful. Fiberglass helmets can be more fragile.

If it were me, that would drive me crazy, unless I was going for weathering. You could try rondo-ing it, sanding it down and repainting if you aren't opposed to that. That would probably be a bit overkill though

looks like the gel coat, you can get gel coat repair kits/liquid as well as fibreglass repair kits.

see if its gel coat or the fibreglass thats cracked

I think it's only the gel coat that has cracked. Because there is no sign of the crack from the inside.

Where can I find a gelcoat repair kit/liquid? And how does that work?

Yup, that's a stress crack in the gel coat, caused by that chip that it radiates from.

As your helmet has flexed, it's stressed the gel and popped that chip.

Gel can be repaired pretty easily. You just need a filler.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Evercoat-105652-.5-Oz-White-Marine-Gel-Coat-Scratch-Patch/21798232

I've never used this stuff, being UK based. But it's what I found your side of the pond.

You can always get some white Gel and fill it back in. It's just like a thick 2-part paint.